22 мая 1972 года на Цейлоне приняли новую конституцию

As early as 1948, Ceylon ceased to be a British colony. But having renounced their dependency, they agreed to remain friends: the colony became an independent member of the British Commonwealth. Under the new constitution adopted in 1972, the member of the Commonwealth became known as the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. The island was renamed, too. “Lanka” translated from Sanskrit means “land.” The prefix “sri-” means “honorable” – it is used to address respected people. The “honorable, respected land” – so is Sri Lanka called now. This is the place which Anton Pavlovich Chekhov called a paradise during his visit upon returning from Sakhalin. Only Ceylon tea remained unrenamed – and that’s good! As long as it’s genuine, of course.